Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map

State Victims' Rights Amendments


  • A state Constitutional Amendment for Victims' Rights was passed in Spring, 1994.
  • The amendment was passed by 87% of voters.

Amendment Text:

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.

Criminal administration shall be based upon the following:

the need for protecting the public, community condemnation of the offender, the rights of victims of crimes, restitution from the offender, and the principle of reformation.

Crime victims, as defined by law, shall have the following rights as provided by law:

  • the right to be reasonably protected from the accused through the imposition of appropriate bail or conditions of release by the court;
  • the right to confer with the prosecution;
  • the right to be treated with dignity, respect, and fairness during all phases of the criminal and juvenile justice process;
  • the right to timely disposition of the case following the arrest of the accused;
  • the right to obtain information about and be allowed to be present at all criminal or juvenile proceedings where • the accused has the right to be present;
  • the right to be allowed to be heard, upon request, at sentencing, before or after conviction or juvenile adjudication, and at any proceeding where the accused's release from custody is considered;
  • the right to restitution from the accused; and
  • the right to be informed, upon request, of the accused's escape or released from custody before or after conviction or juvenile adjudication.

[State Map] Alabama> •  Alaska •  Arizona •  Arkansas •  California •  Colorado •  Connecticut •  Delaware •  Florida •  Georgia •  Hawaii •  Idaho •  Illinois •  Indiana •  Iowa •  Kansas •  Kentucky •  Louisiana •  Maine •  Maryland •  Massachusetts •  Michigan •  Minnesota •  Mississippi •  Missouri •  Montana •  Nebraska •  Nevada •  New Hampshire •  New Jersey •  New Mexico •  New York •  North Carolina •  North Dakota •  Ohio •  Oklahoma •  Oregon •  Pennsylvania •  Rhode Island •  South Carolina •  South Dakota •  Tennessee •  Texas •  Utah •  Vermont •  Virginia •  Washington •  West Virginia •  Wisconsin •  Wyoming